STFbreadcrumb separatorSTFsbreadcrumb separatorSTF Homepagesbreadcrumb separatorSTF486

Specialist Task Force 486:

Cloud Standards Coordination – Phase 2

What Cloud Standards Coordination (CSC) is:

The Context

Cloud Computing in Europe

In September 2012 the European Commission adopted the Communication "Unleashing the potential of cloud computing in Europe" to stimulate the uptake of cloud computing to the benefit of European customers and providers.

One of the three Key Actions proposed in the Communication focuses on standardisation.

Cloud Standards Coordination Phase 1

The Cloud Standards Coordination (CSC) phase 1 is a common European Commission and ETSI initiative launched in 2013 in response to a request from EC to ETSI to coordinate with stakeholders in the cloud standards ecosystems and devise standards roadmaps in support of EU policy in critical areas such as security, interoperability, data portability and reversibility.

Cloud Standards Coordination Phase 2

CSC Phase 2 investigates some specific aspects of the Cloud Computing standardisation landscape, in particular from the point of view of cloud users (e.g. SMEs, Administrations). It will also generate a new “snapshot” of the state of standards.

The second CSC phase started in February 2015 and will end in December 2015.

How to interact with us

Visit our web site

Take our survey!

As part of our work on understanding Cloud Computing user needs, we’re running a survey to capture views and to understand the current state of play in the Cloud Computing space: please take the survey - your opinion matters!

Contact us

Attend events where we will present our work results such as:

EuroCIO Workshop (June), EuroCloud Conference (October),

ICT 2015 (October) and more

Our work and the expected outcome

What we do

What we don't do

Our work is centered around 4 main work streams:

-        Understanding Cloud Computing User Needs

-        Analyzing the relationship between standards and Open Source Software in Cloud Computing

-        Analyzing how standards and certification can be best utilized to provide a high level of security in the Cloud Computing domain

-        Assessing the maturity of Cloud Computing Standards

We also perform related liaison and dissemination activities.

As for CSC Phase 1, CSC Phase 2 does not do standardisation work: this work is done and will continue to be done by the relevant organizations identified during CSC Phase 1.

Our team

Bernd Becker

Emmanuel Darmois

Anders Kingstedt 

Olivier Le Grand

Peter Schmitting

Wolfgang Ziegler






z-rands (Leader)

This information is based upon STF working assumptions.

The views expressed do not necessarily represent the position of ETSI in this context.